top of page

I Didn’t Think This Day Would Come

I didn’t think this day would come, and yet here we are. I never cheated on you. Never. But I know you will never believe me. And that’s what hurts the most. That hurts more than the abusive things you did to me and the emotional scar you gave the children. I wanted our marriage to work, I gave up the little  independence I had so you could have peace of mind, but still that wasn’t enough. I know I had shortcomings but I I tried, I tried my hardest to make things work, but you didn’t appreciate them, you constantly looked for flaws. You felt unloved but it was you who kept pushing me - us - away.


I’m afraid of you. The children are afraid of you. But you seem to not know why. And that frightens me more. The fact that you're oblivious to how you make them feel when you're around, how your hurtful words affect them - words that you casually fling with no regard - made me realise what kind of a father you are.


Nevertheless, I still hope that in time, when everything has calmed down, you'll find it in your heart to reach out and repair your relationship with them. I still hope that one day you'll learn to set your pride aside.



bottom of page